Celebrate Gastroschisis Awareness Month with Avery’s Angels Foundation

July is Gastroschisis Awareness Month!

Thanks to the great work of the Avery’s Angels Gastroschisis Foundation, there are a number of ways and resources to make the most out of this mid summer awareness campaign!

But first…

What is Gastroschisis

Gastroschisis is a birth defect of the abdominal wall.  With this condition the baby’s intestines stick outside of the body through a hole in the abdomen next to the belly button. Gastroschisis occurs early during pregnancy and the hole can be small or large.  At times other organs such as the liver and stomach can also be involved. The exposed intestines ad organs can become irritated, swollen, twisted and shortened.

To learn more about gastroschisis, click here.

Who are Avery’s Angels?

In 2008 Meghan Hall Rauen and Jared Rauen found out that their little boy would be born with gastroschisis. During Avery’s life, he not only provided them with hope and joy, there was an incredible rise in their community to support the little family through the process. From meals, to gas cards, prayers and thoughts to folks donating blood in solidarity for Avery’s fight. Even Avery’s team at UNC Chapel Hill NCCC was also heavily involved in educating and supporting Meghan and Jared during Avery’s time.

There were angels around them the entire time. Avery stayed 107 days in the NICU- from April 14th 2009 and passed on July 30th 2009 unexpectedly from unforeseen complications.

Since then, Meghan and her family and community have been keeping Avery’s memory alive by creating the foundation, dedicated to research, awareness, and support for patients and families affected by gastroschisis.

In fact, Avery’s Angels will be celebrating its 10 year anniversary on July 30th! 10 years of great work.

To read more about their story, click here.

Gastroschisis Awareness 2019

Avery’s Angels will be celebrating Gastroschisis Awareness throughout the months of July and August – depending on the exact location.

Click here to find an event near and see how you can get involved in any local event!

Or find your state below!

Alabama

July 28th at 2:00 pm
6251 Park S Drive Bessemer, Alabama 35022
Organizer: Cecilia Bentley, cecilia@averysangels.org

Arizona

July 28th at 2:00 pm at Goldwater Lake
Prescott, Arizona 86303
Organizer: Victoria Hansen, arizona@averysangels.org

California

July 27th at 1:00 pm at Pioneer Park
Sienna Hills Drive San Diego, California 92127
Organizer: Jennifer Gonzalez, jennifergonzalez@averysangels.org

July 30th at 11:00 am at El Roble Park
7550 Wren Avenue Gilroy, California 95020
Organizer: Analeise Guild, support@averysangels.org

Colorado

July 28th at 2:00 pm at Rose Hill Hospitality House
605 26 ½ Rd. Grand Junction, Colorado 81506
Organizer: Liz Tuck, liz@averysangels.org

Florida

July 30th at 6:30 pm at The Orlando Eye
8401 International Drive Orlando, Florida 32819
Organizer: Meghan Reveron, lovepurple123453@gmail.com

Georgia

July 27th at 2:00 pm at The Hunt Club
Serengeti Blvd. Pooler, Georgia 31322
Organizer: Rebecca Plaza, rebeccawhitney1993@gmail.com

Indiana

July 27th at 2:00 pm at Mooresville Park, Shelter 2
1101 Indianapolis Road Mooresville, Indiana 46158
Organizer: Sara Cain, sara@averysangels.org

Kansas

July 28th at 3:00 pm at Buffalo Park & Splash Pad
10201 Hardtner Wichita, Kansas 67212
Organizer: JorDawn Ramirez, jordawn@averysangels.org

Kentucky

July 20th at 1:00 pm
10400 Blue Lick Road Louisville, Kentucky 40229
Organizer: Tonya Miller, kentucky@averysangels.org

Louisiana

July 20th at 10:00 am
4040 Pine Island Highway Jennings, Louisiana 70564
Organizer: Emily LaVergne, louisiana@averysangels.org

Maine

July 28th at 1:00 pm
251 Greely Road North Yarmouth, Maine 04097
Organizer: Caroline Fetigan, maine@averysangels.org

Massachusetts

July 27th from 11:00 am – 3:00 pm
Bremen Street Community Park Boston, Massachusetts 02128
Organizer: Gaby Luna, gabyluna@averysangels.org

Michigan

July 28th at 1:00 pm
1552 N Main Street Lapeer, Michigan 48446
Organizer: Brea Muir, brea@averysangels.org

August 3rd from 2:00 – 6:00 pm at Allendale Township Park
11069 68th Avenue Allendale, Michigan 49401
Organizer: Cally Chatman, cally@averysangels.org

Minnesota

July 27th at 11:00 am at Lions Park
1043 5th Street W Hastings, Minnesota 55033
Organizer: Becky Scharpen, becky@averysangels.org

Mississippi

July 27th from 1:00 – 5:00 pm for “Lunch with Lola”
Sal & Phil’s 6600 Old Canton Rd, B Ridgeland, Mississippi 39157
Organizer: Amy Partridge, mississippi@averysangels.org

Missouri

August 3rd at 10:00 am at Indian Camp Creek Shelter #1
2679 Dietrich Road Foristell, Missouri 63348
Organizer: Kaitlyn Pitman, kaitlyn@averysangels.org

Nebraska

July 27th at 10:00 am at Fairmont American Legion
525 F Jefferson Street Fairmont, Nebraska 68354
Organizer: Carleen Vest Light, nebraska@averysangels.org

New Jersey

July 28th at 9:00 am at Cape May Zoo
707 US 9 Cape May, New Jersey 08210
Organizer: Andrea Pagan, newjersey@averysangels.org

North Carolina

July 20th at 10:00 am at Village Park, Shelter D
700 West C Street Kannapolis, North Carolina 28081
Organizer: Crystal Printy, crystal@averysangels.org

July 27th at 12:00 pm at Memorial Park
119 Wilkesboro Avenue North Wilkesboro, North Carolina 28659
Organizer: Nikki Billings, nikki@averysangels.org

Ohio

July 21st at 1:00 pm at French Park
3012 Section Road Cincinnati, Ohio 45237
Organizer: Erin Werner, erin@averysangels.org

Oklahoma

August 3rd from 12:00 – 3:00 pm at DC on Film Row
609 W Sheridan Avenue Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102
Organizer: Rebecca LaFollette, rebecca@averysangels.org

Oregon

August 10th at 12:00 pm at Tualatin City Park
8515 SW Tualatin Road Tualatin, Oregon 97062
Organizer: Pam Barela, pam@averysangels.org

Rhode Island

August 3rd at 1:00 pm
274 Victoria Highway West Greenwich, Rhode Island 02817
Organizer: Alexandra Snow, alexandra@averysangels.org

Tennessee

July 28th at 2:00 pm
1188 Cumberland Drive Clarksville, Tennessee 37040
Organizer: Ashlee Wagoner, ashlee@averysangels.org

Texas

July 27th at 11:00 am at Discovery Green
1500 McKinney St. Houston, Texas 77010
Organizer: Brittany Isham, brittany@averysangels.org

Virginia

August 24th at 11:00 am
15189 Airfield Road Wakefield, Virginia 23888
Organizer: Laurel-Eden Combs, laureledenc@gmail.com

Washington

July 20th at 1:00 pm at Montlake Park
401 Linden Avenue Moses Lake, Washington, 98837
Organizer: Carissa Shoemaker, carissa@averysangels.org 

West Virginia

July 28th at 2:00 pm at Carnifex Ferry State Park
1194 Carnifex Ferry Crossing, Summersville, West Virginia 26651
Organizer: Jordan Bennett, ksbennett9@hotmail.com

Wisconsin

July 28th from 12:00 – 3:00 pm at Silver Spur BBQ
13275 Watertown Plank Road Elm Grove, Wisconsin 53122
Organizer: Rachelle Coffey, rachelle@averysangels.org

United Kingdom

July 27th at 1:00 pm at Bury Knowle Park
London Road, Headington Oxford, Oxfordshire, 0X3 9HX, United Kingdom
Organizer: Rebekah Dean, rebekahdean2@yahoo.co.uk

And don’t miss these structures and landmarks lighting up green for Gastroschisis Awareness Day!

July 29th

The Northern Lights Display at BC Place (Vancouver, Canada)

July 30th

3D Toronto Light (Canada)
The Niagara Falls Illumination Board (US and Canada)
Calgary Tower (Canada)
Vancouver City Hall (Canada)
CN Tower (Canada)
The High Level Bridge (Edmonton, Canada)
Reconciliation Bridge (Alberta, Canada)
Wells Fargo’s Duke Energy Center (NC)
The Saint Louis Science Center’s James S. McDonnell Planetarium (MO)
The Peace Bridge (NY)
Leid Center of Kansas (KS)
Wesley Children’s Hospital (KS)
Flint Hills Discovery Center (KS)
Martin Luther King Jr. Bridge (IN)
RJ Corman Bridge (TN)
Korean War Memorial Bridge (TN)
Ally Detroit Center (MI)
NASCAR Hall of Fame (NC)
Time & Temperature Building (ME)
McKay Tower (MI)

The Helix Garage (KY)
The Federal Reserve Bank(MI)
Portland City Hall (ME)
The Z Park (parking garage) (MI)
Woodmen Life Building (NE)
Sprerry Tower (MN)
One Campus Martius (MI)
Indiana Power and Light Building (IN)
The Wheel at ICON Park (FL)
Bob Kerry Bridge (NE & IA)
One Woodward (MI)
Skydance Bridge (OK)
Tennessee Aquarium (TN)

St. Louis Lambert International Airport (MO)

Email kaitlyn@averysangels.org to learn how to get YOUR local buildings to light up Green!

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email
Close Menu